Aby-a-Day – March 10: The wonderful world of TICA

I also wanted to share the TICA experience. It was, as I said, different. Different breeds of cats, a slightly different style of showing, and a slightly different overall personality. Not bad, just different. Kind of like when you live in either the US or Canada and go to the other country; we speak the same language (apart from that whole “couch/chesterfield” thing), we watch the same television shows, but we use different money and do our everyday things just a little bit differently.

jakedexterN9603

I like different. I’m a Gemini; different is awesome.

jakeprovticaN9602

It was also a lot of fun to see Munchkins, Bengals, Savannahs and Toygers, since those aren’t recognised by CFA. Savannahs, in fact, on January 28th 2012, TICA accepted the Savannah as a championship breed, so this was actually one of the breed’s first “real” shows.

savannahprovticaN9590

Animal Planet has a new episode of Too Cute Kittens with Savannah kittens, and it aired for the first time on the Saturday night of the cat show. I was talking to a woman with Savannah kittens on Sunday, and it turns out that those are her kittens on the program. So now I’ve met two of the breeders who have been featured on Too Cute! Kittens, the Abyssinians who were bred by Instincts (breeders of Jacoby’s mother Catalina), and now I’ve met the Savannahs, too.

savannahprovticaN9592

This is Janet with one of her kittens. As I’ve been telling the Pouponette’s Number 1, my camera has been having issues lately…the good photo I took of her wasn’t saved by the camera, unfortunately, so this is the best I have.

jordacheprovticaN9588

This is an adult Savannah named Jordache.

jordacheprovticaN9589

He and his human were wearing coordinated outfits!

toygerprovticaN9582

This is one of the Toygers that was at the show. I’d never seen a Toyger in person before.

toygerprovticaN9586

But last weekend, I got to see two!

bengalfawnabyprovticaN9548

I never saw a Bengal in person, either. This was a Champion Bengal next to a really pretty little fawn Aby girl.

fawnabyprovticaN9537

She was adorable!

champabysprovticaN9539

There were also two ruddy Championship Abyssinians in the show.

somaliprovticaN9574

And this incredible Silver Cinnamon Somali.

somaliprovticaN9557

He was so gorgeous.

somaliprovticaN9575

And good-natured!

siameseHHPprovticaN9578

This Siamese was actually a Household Pet.

japbobprovticaN9581

Every time I saw this little Japanese Bobtail, I was reminded of Eyebrow Kitteh. His people actually hadn’t seen Eyebrow Kitteh…I’m sure they thought I was strange.

abytattooprovticaN9444

Dexter’s person had the most spectacular tattoo of her red/sorrel Aby…it’s certainly gotten me to thinking!

eurpburmprovtica

And we also saw this little lilac European Burmese. It was funny, because Jacoby saw her first and he just kind of stared at her. I’m sure he thought she was Tessie at first, and he was just fascinated with her. It was really funny.

As I said yesterday, there was also a Pet Expo going on (the cat show was a part of the larger Expo), and we had a lot of spectators coming through both days. Everyone was really well-mannered, for the most part; people asked sensible questions and the children were polite. Sometimes when there are a lot of what we used to call “Mundanes” when I was in the SCA walking around, I get nervous for my belongings; the more people who pass by your encampment, the more likely it is that something of yours may evolve legs and walk away. But I didn’t hear of any missing belongings either of the two days, which is wonderful!

jakeprovticaN9410

We had a lot of attention around Jake’s house, because we were benched next to the only Sphynx at the show, and the kids all loved Sally.

sallyprovticaN9593

Her people, Laurie and Michael, let the kids touch her so they would know what a hairless cat felt like.

sallyprovticaN9594

I actually had to take her up to a ring while they were at lunch! I’ve petted Sphynxes before, but I’d never shown one…that was an interesting experience. I said it was like driving someone else’s car; I was familiar with the process, but everything was just slightly off.

jordacheprovticaN9589

I like having little kids (and older girls) come by to see Jake. I always talk to them and let them pet a real live show cat; I was just like them when I was their age, and I would have been over the moon if I’d have been allowed to touch a real show Aby when I was 12. I would have been too shy to even ask, so I really enjoy talking to kids about the cat show, Jake, and the whole show experience because I see myself in those kids. I found an article for cat show exhibitors on a Persian and Exotic breeder’s website which, personally, says everything I want to say and more; it’s a brilliant essay.

jakeprovticaN9408

I also have Jake’s TokiPoki cards, and tiny “rock band buttons” with his name and photo on them that I give away to the really good cat-crazy kids. Those are very popular; sometimes the parents want one, too! A lot of the cat people at shows can be a little preoccupied and a lot of us deal better with cats than with people (myself included), so I always try to remember what I felt like when I just came to look at cat shows, before I was actually involved with them.

abybroidery

The Expo itself had a lot of booths with all sorts of pet-related products. I bought a totebag with “I Love My Abyssinian” on it (and it had green handles, too!) from Klondike Stuff embroidery, and the owner came over to me and said, “Thank you for buying a totebag.” I grinned and said, “Thank you for having a totebag with an Aby on it!”

abytowelIMG_6912

I also got this little grey hand towel from her. It’s supposed to be a “Yoga Cat,” but I think she looks like a fawn Aby.

Another cool thing about Expos like this is that you get introduced to new products, like the new walnut-shell litter that Blue just came out with. The Northeast sales rep himself (I think his name is Greg) came around to all of us exhibitors and extolled the virtues of this new litter – and also gave us a bag to try out!

I haven’t tried it yet, but apparently nut shells in general, and especially walnut shells, have amazing ammonia gas and odor-neutralising properties. During WWI, they were used in gas masks because walnut shells were super-effective against mustard gas. According to Greg, this was discovered by accident when gas masks were stored in a shed that was broken into by squirrels, who stored walnuts inside the gas masks. When they were testing the gas masks for effectiveness against mustard gas, the men who had gas masks with walnuts in them were fine, but those without the walnuts passed out. And, as anyone who’s ever read a label on a bottle of bleach or ammonia knows, mustard gas is ammonia-based, just like cat urine. So it should work really well on cat box odor, and I’m very interested to try it!

litterbiteN3605

I’m sure Jake is, too. I just hope he doesn’t try to eat it like he did the corn-based World’s Best Litter!

4 thoughts on “Aby-a-Day – March 10: The wonderful world of TICA

  1. Wow, that Silver Cinnamon Somali is handsome! Are you sure he didn’t have a bit of a ‘tude? ‘Cause he photographs like he does.

  2. Great pictures! Tell us how the cat litter works–I’m STILL trying to find a good one (Feline Pine clumping is nice but tracks EVERYWHERE, World’s Best smells like fermenting corn, etc.)

    • I am dying to see how it works, too. It’s also supposed to be “100% flushable” (except in California). So we’ll see. It actually looks like coffee grinds, but it doesn’t really even have much of a smell. It’s intriguing.

Comments are closed.