Aby-a-Day – September 27: Before he was mine (Flashback Friday)

Jacoby has been my kitten since three days after he was born.

scarslastkittens

newborns3

I remember when I found out that he’d been born. Sherry called me up on a cold mid-April afternoon, April 17th while I was walking home from work. Scar, Gun-Hee and Jake’s father, had died the month before when he managed to get out and was hit by a car. This time, Sherry had happier news: Catalina had just surprised Sherry with a litter of three kittens that Tuesday!

catalina+babies2

The litter, two boys and a girl, was a surprise because Sherry didn’t think that last mating between Scar and Catalina had “taken” and he died before she could try again. Also, Catalina didn’t really show until about a week or so before she gave birth. So, posthumously, Scar added three kittens to his legacy.

tinyjacoby1

And one of the boys was to be mine.

abyhandful

I often tell Jake that he was “born to be my kitten” because, well, in a way he was. As soon as Sherry knew there were two boys, she picked one out for me and chose the other one for herself. The one she kept, of course, was Johnny Dillinger, whose fathered several litters himself to carry on the family name.

kittenpile

Sherry took all these photos and sent them to me before Jake arrived on August 1st.

catnip

You can tell that, even then, he was a bold little character!

jacoby2133

He knew he was a special kitten, too. I’m sure of it. Just look at his face!

5 thoughts on “Aby-a-Day – September 27: Before he was mine (Flashback Friday)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.