Aby-a-Day – 1 June: Rory and Rudolf (Fashion Friday)

As my regular readers know, I am a big fan of Lisa Larson, especially her cats.

roryrudolfC05678

So, for my birthday, Björn managed to find me a Japanese Lisa Larson plush Rudolf!

roryrudolfC05674

I joke that it is clearly an Abyssinian; he’s brown, with clear banding.

roryrudolfC05689

roryrudolfC05693

roryrudolfC05696

Lorelai can’t quite decide how she feels about Rudolf.

roryrudolfC05703

It’s a funny thing, the way the Japanese have embraced Lisa Larson’s cats, and yet it isn’t at all. They have co-opted Finland’s Moomins to the point where I legit thought Moomins were Japanese before Sanna-Leena set me straight.

roryrudolfC05704

But the Lisa Larson obsession, especially her cats, makes complete sense. Lisa’s round, friendly cat faces are right up Japan’s alley.

roryrudolfC05706

A match made in heaven, one might say.

roryrudolfC05716

Don’t worry…no Lisa Larson Japanese cat plushies were harmed in the making of this post.