Aby-a-Day – 29 Augusti: Thai tuna salad (Silly Singapura Sunday)

I have an awesome recipe for Thai tuna salad from the Wei Chuan cooking books I learned to cook Asian food with back in the late 90’s.

zakfreddysalad_8107

The books had been boxed up since I moved out of my Somerville apartment in 2009. I rediscovered them earlier this year, and one thing I wanted to make again was my Thai tuna salad. Canned tuna isn’t a staple in Sweden the way it is in the States, so when I found canned tuna on sale at the supermarket, I was all over that action.

zakfreddysalad_8108 1

It’s such a great salad because it doesn’t involve mayonnaise. The version I make has fish sauce, sweet chili sauce, lime juice, mint leaves, celery, lemongrass, and scallions; I also add cucumber and Romaine lettuce. But you can also include cilantro (coriander), tomatoes, crushed peanuts, Thai basil, carrots…well basically anything Thai and salady.

zakfreddysalad_8109 1

Alfred was quite interested in my empty container, as you might expect.

zakfreddysalad_8110 1

Izaak can express so many feels in one look.

2 thoughts on “Aby-a-Day – 29 Augusti: Thai tuna salad (Silly Singapura Sunday)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.