Aby-a-Day – 3 June: “Toys are a caricature of reality” (Cinema Sunday)

I think we are in a golden age of cat toys right now. There is a lot more attention paid to the unique needs of cat toys vs dog toys these days, and toys are designed with an increased focus towards cats’ specific needs. But do the things we think are fun for cats to play with the same sorts of things that cats actually think are fun to play with?

solotoyC05483

Back in the States a few years back, Petco came out with a collection of Star War toys and accessories. They have just arrived in Sweden, apparently, because I have seen them in several shops here. Most of the cat toys are along the lines of mice dressed like Luke and Leia or C-3PO and R2-D2, but this one really caught my eye: Han Solo mousie in carbonite crinkly cat toy! It’s basically a crinkle toy, with a mousie. Dressed as Han Solo.

solotoyC05484

Mousie Han also can come out of the carbonite.

solotoyC05489

Lorelai was…underwhelmed.

rory-solotoyC05491

rory-solotoyC05495

Oh, she tried to make it be fun…

rory-solotoyC05503

But it kind of just wasn’t.

grumpytoyC05501

So then I showed Rory the Grumpy Cat toy. This one is basically a furry rattle ball with a tail.

rory-grumpytoyC05508

Now, that’s what I’m talking about! says Rory.

rory-grumpytoyC05510

rory-grumpytoyC05513

rory-sologrumpytoyC05518

rory-sologrumpytoyC05520

rory-solotoyC05523

rory-grumpysolotoyC05524

rory-grumpytoyC05528

Rory freaking loves this toy!

rory-grumpysolotoyC05531

Awww…look at poor Mousie Han Solo over there. Does Rory feel bad about snubbing him?

rory-grumpytoyC05534

NOPE.

birdtoyC05217

Finally, I showed Rory what I thought would be the winner: the chirping bird toy.

birdtoyC05222

rory-birdtoyC05539

It’s definitely one of the prettiest cat toys I’ve seen. The tail feathers are lovely, and the fur used for the body looks feathery. When moved, it makes a variety of different, very realistic birdsong sounds.

freddy-birdtoyC05542

Alfred actually checked the bird out first, while Rory was still busy with Grumpy Cat.

freddy-birdtoyC05557

Finding that it wasn’t food, Freddy soon lost interest.

rory-birdtoyC05565

Finally I got Rory’s attention and she came to investigate the bird.

rory-birdtoyC05566

rory-birdtoyC05567

I think at first she was a little afraid of it.

rory-grumpytoyC05553

rory-grumpytoyC05561

She played with it for a while…but eventually went back to her bestie, Grumpy Cat. Out of the three, that seems to be the favourite. The bird is great, too – it’s my favourite (as if that counts for something). As for Mousie Han Solo…yeah, I think that toy was made to appeal to the owners, not the cats.

Mere photos could not capture the hilarity of Rory playing with the bird, though. Here is a video of her playing with it that I dare you not to laugh at.

2 thoughts on “Aby-a-Day – 3 June: “Toys are a caricature of reality” (Cinema Sunday)

  1. OMC, Aby kittens are so much fun! Honestly, my favorite toy is my human – I play fetch with her, she brings out the Neko Flies for me to play with, and we have fun training sessions!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.