Aby-a-Day – February 14: Longstem Valentine (Friday Flashback)

Valentine’s Day always reminds me of Gun-Hee.

gunhee-flower

These photos are from Gun-Hee’s last Valentine’s. I got some carnations and brought them home to see what Gun-Hee would do with them.

gunhee-trick_flowers

He and Patrick examined them closely.

gunhee-tessie_flower

Then, Gun-Hee gave some of the flowers to Tessie! Awww…

Abys are Everywhere – Valentine’s Abys

You know me, I’ll always take a few minutes to scan a rack of greeting cards to see if I can find one that features not just a cute kitty on the front, but a cute Aby kitty, and this Valentine’s season, I was not disappointed.

This year at Target, I found a Valentine’s Day card that features a sweet Somali kitten wearing a heart-covered hoodie (The inside of the card says “…Cupcake”)!

Not only that, but Jacoby has his very own Valentine’s Day cards, courtesy of TokiPoki. Including the conversation heart was actually my idea, since the original Necco factory was on Fort Point Channel along what is now the Harborwalk, right where Jake and I live, and I liked that little nod to our home on his card.

Packets of these cards featuring different TokiPoki members were sent out to children’s hospitals across the country so that sick kids could have a happy Valentine’s Day, too, as part of TokiPoki’s annual Love Drive. But Jake wanted to make sure all his fans got a card, too.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Abys are Everywhere – Exquisite Ukrainian Aby Scarf

I found this Abyssinian scarf on Etsy…and it is gorgeous!

A fantastic way to keep warm with this lovely fluffy cat curled up around your neck.
Hand knitted biege brown scarf with a wonderful had sewn face for its unique character.
This is a guilt-free, animal-friendly knitted cat stole. The cat is knitted with soft yarn (70% mohair and 30% acrylic). The cat is made as a tube.
The cat can be hand washed and line dried.
This is a real animal friendly alternative fur accessory.
Measures approximately width 5″ (12 cm), body length 36″ (90 cm), with tail and paws 57″ (145 cm).

The artist, TaniaSh, lives in the Ukraine and makes cat scarves in other cat breeds besides Abys. And look at the detail – look at the tail! I guess I’ve just found my first Christmas wishlist item…