Aby-a-Day – 11 April: Fie! (Miniature Monday)

I’ve lived in Boston for 16 years this coming May, but I only just yesterday finally went to the Boston Tea Party Museum. It’s really a lot of fun! I didn’t do the tour this time; my friends Ailsa and Stephanie were in town, and we just did the gift shop and the tea room.

ftpoint-teapartyIMG_3781

ftpoint-teapartyIMG_3785

You can see the building I live in from the museum, which is located in the middle of the Congress Street Bridge. I could see the Tea Party Museum from my building, too, if it were larger!

teapartyshopIMG_3791 1

The gift shop is pretty elaborate, and they actually sell really good quality items along with the usual tourist stuff.

teapartyshopIMG_3790 1

They sell the types of tea that were tossed off the boat 16 December 1773.

minijaketeapartyC05338

minijaketeapartyC05338

Mini-Jacoby was interested in checking out the replica ship.

minijaketeapartyIMG_3794 1

minijaketeapartyIMG_3793 1

“Man the boats! The Wrecking Ball is aboard!”

minijaketeapartyC05342

They also had these little colonial mice which he found quite interesting.

tepartygameIMG_3797 1

After the gift shop, we visited the Tea Room, where you can get scones and other baked goods, sandwiches and soups, hot apple cider (with or without rum)…and, of course, tea.

tepartygameIMG_3796 1

On the tables, there are period board games like Shut the Box and Nine Man Morris.

minijaketeapartyC05351

At our table, we had a Nine Man Morris board with the flag of New England embazoned on it. Mini-Jake wanted to play…but he couldn’t quite move the pieces. I didn’t do the actual tour this visit…I am saving it for next week, when we plan to do not only the tour, but also the Tavern Night dinner.