Aby-a-Day – December 7: Boot Scootin’ Boogie (Fashion Friday)

I have to say, I’ve gotten a lot of comments and questions about Jacoby’s Muttluks!

jakebootselevatorIMG_9657

Yes, he does keep them on, mostly. No, he doesn’t entirely love them (as you saw on Wednesday), but he appreciates them when he’s outside. There’s something about them inside that feels weird to his feet, apparently, as he gives his paws, ankles and wrists a good licking when he gets them off. And the boot seems to be especially bothersome on his right foot, which is the one he injured in his escalator accident*. I don’t see anything when I clip his claws (and believe me, I look for scars every time), but maybe there’s something about the inside of the boot that bothers that one foot.

jakebootshallwayIMG_9658

Even so, I can’t blame him for not loving his footwear; I hate wearing shoes and socks, too.

But for those who are interested, here’s a quick little video of Jake walking in his Muttluks:

You see? He does walk well in them when he’s got a definite destination.

* Speaking of Jake’s accident, I just read about a dog who had a similar accident earlier this year and lost two toes! Apparently, this happens to about three dogs a year in Boston…seems like it would be more heard of, doesn’t it?

ScooterKnits: The sublime evil genius of cat hattery

Since posting photos of Jacoby wearing his knit cap and his mistletoe hat, I’ve been getting a lot of questions about them! And it occurred to me that I have a lot of new readers who may not remember when I first got Jake his hats, and a reintroductory post might be in order.

jakesnowC07064

Therefore, I exhort all of you who might be in need of some feline haberdashery to check out ScooterKnits on Etsy!

jakemistletoetreeE_1337

Just look at what this woman can do! And not just Christmas, either – there are pumpkin hats, heart hats, flowery bonnets and even punk cat hats complete with faux hawk!

jakemistletoetreeE_1307

I’m sure she’s pretty busy knitting since I’ve been talking her up, but they do make awesome stocking stuffers for your good little kitties..!