Aby-a-Day – 31 August: Jacoby and his doppelganger (Friday Flashback)

Five years ago today, I posted about Jacoby and a plushie made in his likeness by Avanii on DeviantArt.

jakeplushieC01393

We still have both Jake and his plushie simulacrum.

jakeplushieC01407

I fixed the ears to make them more upright and less…floppy.

jakeplushieC01408

Jake seems to be slightly envious of his alter-ego…

jakeplushieC01400

….But he posed nicely with it when I took some five-year commemorative photos of Jake and his alter-ego.

jakeplushieC01394

…And…we’re done.

Other People’s Abys: Sky hunts with StarClan

I cannot believe I am having to write ANOTHER of these posts this year.

sky11

One of my best friends, Barb, just lost her loving companion, Alexy Blue Cream Sky of Aksum, to cancer. She’d been battling it for over a year.

sky10

Sky was only 10.

sky9

Look at those gorgeous eyes!

sky8

Sky was bred by Susan Graham of Aksum Abyssinians, and she was a very special Aby in more ways than one. Sky was a rare tortioseshell Abyssinian.
Susan is one of the few breeders in North America who works with sex-linked red (the true, genetic red, not the CFA “red” that most registries call either sorrel or cinnamon). And when you breed sex-linked red, you get torties (well, technically, torbies, since Abys are tabbies).

skycone

This photo of her after one of her operations really shows her tortie pattern.

sky7

I never got to meet Sky in person, which I truly regret. I can’t imagine what she must have been like…Tortitude combined with Abyssinian!

sky1

She was certainly a character in photos!

sky2010CatsUSA

In her younger days, she was a TICA show cat and was even a model in the 2010 issue of Cats USA.

skycartoon

And Sky even appeared in one of my cartoons once.

My heart has joined the Thousand, for my friend has stopped running today. Sleep well in Tuonela, sweet Sky.