Aby-a-Day – August 23: Angel’s early outings (Friday Fashion Flashback)

Angel may not be the cat about town that Jacoby is, but she is still an Aby and, as is her birthright, she still appreciates an outing now and then. Her problem is…harnesses.

angel-airport1

Angel’s very first harness was a Walking Jacket.

angel-airport2

She wore it on the flight from California back to Boston. I wasn’t terribly impressed with it, though. She actually managed to get out of it while in her carrier bag! I also wasn’t crazy about the way it fit her.

angel4712

Her first real trip outside to the park was on a chilly day in April, so she wore this little purple print jacket. I think this one came from Petsmart.

angel4718

She’d never worn clothes before, if you can believe that!

angel4720

I have long believed that cats don’t mind wearing coats because cats are not stupid. They don’t like being cold, and they figure out pretty quickly that coats keep them warm and they get to go outside and not be cold.

angel4734

Angel certainly figured that out quickly!

angelN2429

The harness I’ve been using on Angel has been the Gooby Freedom Harness II.

angelN2444

Overall, I’ve been pretty happy with it.

angelN2498

Angel seems to like it, too.

angelN2519

However…

angelharborwalkC08723

…On our last outing, THIS happened.

angelharborwalkC08737

I caught it quickly and hooked her back up, but once a cat manages to get out of a harness, I’ve found it’s pretty much useless after that. So it’s time to find Angel a better harness. I’ve gotten her one of these from Petco, which I like because the shoulders are adjustable. We have tried it in the house, but not in the great outdoors…that’s our next project!