Aby-a-Day – October 13: That’s show business!

The New England Meow Outfit’s first CFA cat show is over. And it was a lot of fun. One of the highlights was the human-feline costume contest. We had a remarkable turnout!

jakecocoNEMOegyptC04378

Jacoby and I actually wore three costumes yesterday. We started out in our ancient Egyptian set.

Mine has been slightly modified for comfort and warmth.

jakeNEMOegyptC04393

Jake has really gotten used to the crown that our friend Julie (Toki Nantucket’s mom) made.

jakeNEMOegyptC04608

He even slept in it!

About halfway through the day, we changed into our “Nellie and Luther at the Thanksgiving Follies” scene from South Pacific.

jakecocoNEMOSouthPacificC04916

I even sang “Honey Bun” with slightly revised wording.

jakecocoNEMOSouthPacificC04919

“10.1 pounds of fun, that’s my little Honey Bun
Get a load of Honey Bun tonight
I’m speakin’ of my Sweetie Pie
Only sixteen inches high
Ev’ry inch is packed with dynamite.”

jakecocoNEMOSouthPacificC04922

I even made little tags for his hips to name them “Whirly” and “Twirly.” And you’ll notice that his blond wig is ticked…

jakecocoNEMOsushiC04999

jakecocoNEMOsushiC05009

Then, for the contest itself, we changed into our Sushi ensemble.

jakecocoNEMOsushiC05008

jakecocoNEMOsushiC05043

jakecocoNEMOsushiC05036

I was a sushi waitress, and Jake was sushi.

jakeNEMOsushiC05122

The sushi costume actually came from Petco.

jakeNEMOsushiC05118

Jake didn’t actually have mad ears…that was just the elastic on the sushi-grass hat.

jakeNEMOsushiC05117

He was really quite relaxed and happy.

jakecocoNEMOsushiC05013

We had stiff competition, though. Most of it came from Abys and Somalis.

NEMOfiremegrastaC04973

Meg and Fire, inspired by MJ’s catnip, were a pair of Rastafarians.

NEMOfiremegrastaC05092

NEMOfiremegrastaC05086

Fire was in a bad mood, which Meg used to her advantage; she said he was mad because she forgot the rolling papers.

NEMOdantemarshaC05132

NEMOdantemarshaC05130

Marsha Ammons (who was also our emcee) and her blue Aby, Dante Mooner (Racy’s nephew) were a cat and witch.

NEMOgomez-morticiaC05056

NEMOgomez-morticiaC05050

And Linda and her Somali Pippi were Gomez and Morticia Addams.

jakemegirisNEMOcostumesC05017

None of the Abys ended up winning the contest, however.

NEMOmarieC05101

The winners were Marie Antoinette and her Turkish Angora (portrayed by Iris and Birdie)…

NEMOharry-hedwigC05066

And Harry Potter and his owl, Hedwig (as played by Geri and Tortoni).

jakecocomegirisNEMOcostumesC05014

All in all it was a wonderful time. There were actually about 15 entries – and all of them were cats who were also entered in the show! Everyone really enjoyed it.

Also, one last note…I have to thank Abyfriend Kelli who came all the way from Texas to visit us at the show and who took all the photos of the costume contest because I was a little busy. She, my friend Theresa and my friend Deb took the photos of me with Jake. Sometimes, a blog post really takes a village.

I know you want to hear more about the show…and see more photos…but I didn’t get home til after 8pm and I have about 2,000 photos to go through. I’ll go through them as fast as I can, so stay tuned.