Aby-a-Day – 16 August: “Scars are simply modern battle wounds. Sometimes the enemy happens to be inside us.”

As you saw from yesterday’s post, Jacoby came home from his exploratory surgery with no problems.

When I came to collect him, the first thing that happened was that I was handed a folder with Jake’s aftercare instructions.

They were detailed, but completely manageable.

jakepostopIMG_4301

However, as you saw yesterday, AniCura sent him home with a hard plastic “Cone of Shame*.” Nobody wants to wear that, least of all our Jake. So on our way back to the bus stop, we stopped off at a conveniently located pet shop, but they didn’t have any soft cones, so I ended up buying him a Trixie Surgery Suit. We dressed him at the shop, but, sadly, I didn’t take any photos when we tried the onesie on Jake.

jakepostopIMG_4329

But, as you saw yesterday, Jake had zero issues with wearing his onesie. In fact, he probably had fewer issues with it than he would have had with the hard cone!

jakezakreddydayafterIMG_4336

jakezakreddydayafterIMG_4338

This morning, I woke up to…this. Jake was in a cuddle puddle on our bed with Alfred and Izaak!

jakezakreddydayafterIMG_4352

I think Jake was as surprised about that as I was. I blame his (prescribed) post-op opioid painkillers.

jakezakreddyangeldayafterIMG_4346

But it wasn’t just Freddy and Zak. Angel was on the bed, too!

angeltoocloseIMG_4343

She didn’t join the boys’ cuddle puddle, but she clearly approved of it.

angeltoocloseIMG_4344

Okay, Angel. Back off…

rorytoocloseIMG_4342

Meanwhile, on my stomach…we had Lorelai. Which means all five cats were on our bed at the same time!

jakezakreddydayafterIMG_4339

It may be Jake’s medication, but I’m taking it as a solid win!

* Or “Cone of Courage,” as one friend called it.

8 thoughts on “Aby-a-Day – 16 August: “Scars are simply modern battle wounds. Sometimes the enemy happens to be inside us.”

  1. Prayers and fast recovery for Jake! I remember seeing you and him in the stroller around Boston when you lived here. I even met the little guy and that’s how I learned of your blog. Hope all is well 🙂

    Like

  2. Excellent that they didn’t shun Jake for that vet smell – maybe a secondary advantage of his onesie? And little Zak with his head on Jake – so cute!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.