Aby-a-Day – February 12: Lucky find

I have had this little pewter cat figurine since the 1980’s.

jakepewterC04919

Somehow, despite moving several times (to several different cities in three states and one province), I’ve managed not to lose it.

abypewterC04930

I’ve always thought that it looked like an Abyssinian. I don’t know why I looked at it and thought “Aby” rather than any other sort of cat, but I always have. Maybe it’s the way the fur is so detailed; it does remind me of an Aby’s ticking.

rockE_1838

You may remember seeing it before in this post from last October.

jakepewterC04943

It has no markings on it at all. I just know I got it in the 80’s because that’s when I was first interested in Abys, and it’s also when I was collecting little pewter figurines. This is one of the only ones I can still find.

jakepewterC04939

Last week I happened to be looking for something on eBay and I came across a listing for a pewter Abyssinian figurine.

abypewterC05041

abypewterC04963

This figure was on a base with “Abyssinian” stamped on it. There were also stampings on the base showing a manufacturer, a copyright, and a year – 1984.

jakepewterC04949

The cat here is playing with a little ball of yarn – but the cat is very familiar!

jakepewterC04958

Same pose, same ticking…

jakepewterC05027

I was so psyched! After 30 years…I’m finally sure that my little pewter cat really is an Abyssinian!

jakepewterC04967

jakepewterC04968

jakepewterC04971

jakepewterC04979

You may have noticed that I had a little Abyssinian assistance while taking photos for this post.

jakepewterC05013

Jacoby was almost as excited as I was about the little pewter Aby.

jakepewterC05020

Although I suspect it was for an entirely different reason. He is such a helpful boy!

MBTA Bingo

So this is kind of cool…I stumbled across this today looking up @lolmbta and #strollercat on Twitter:

MBTA Bingo! And…check out N-1! Cat in a stroller? That can only be the infamous Strollercat, right? So, in a way, Jacoby’s made the Boston Globe as well as the Herald!