Aby-a-Day – November 24: No bones about it

There’s a little ritual in my family, handed down to me by my mother, involving the turkey neck that comes inside the whole bird along with the giblets.

jaketessieturkeynecksE_1154

Basically, in my family, the neck is a little big dinner preview. We cook it, plain with just a little salt and pepper, and maybe a touch of garlic.

jaketessieturkeynecksE_1150

jaketessieturkeynecksE_1151

Once I eat the meat off the neck, I throw the bones to the lions.

angelturkeynecksE_1161

angelturkeynecksE_1162

They are, as you can see, very popular around our house.

jakeangelturkeynecksE_1165

The Abys, especially, love the turkey neckbones.

jakeangelturkeynecksE_1166

jakeangelturkeynecksE_1167

As you can imagine, it’s a bit difficult for Angel to get a shot at the bones without being interrupted.

jakeangelturkeynecksE_1169

*Sigh* Super-Jake strikes again.