Aby-a-Day – 5 Mars 2020: It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s SuperFreddy! (Thursday Things)

As you saw yesterday, Alfred went a little bit crazy running around in the snow when we had it. He was the last one who wanted to come in from the cold.

freddysnowC01429

He just wanted to run and run….

freddysnowC01442

It was a little frustrating. I was only wearing a hoody so I would be as cold as the unclothed cats, and I was ready to go in, too.

freddysnowC01689

freddysnowC01691

He broke away from me at the door and made a beeline for the swing set that is always so popular in summer.

freddysnowC01700

He was wicked hard to catch.

freddysnowC01712

And he was super naughty! First, he peed in the snow. AGAIN.

freddysnowC01731

Then he moved on and started digging. I thought he was just playing with the snow…

freddysnowC01736

…And it looked like that was all it was, at first.

freddysnowC01744

But no. And, yes, that is exactly what it looks like. He pooped in the snow, too! I feel a little bad about leaving it there in the play area, but I guess kids won’t be swinging anytime soon.

freddysnowC01766

freddysnowC01768

freddysnowC01769

Soon after, he ran back towards our house. Guess that’s why he didn’t want to go back in. But I have never seen him go to the bathroom outside anytime except in snow. Weirdo.

hareprintssnowC01696

While I was out there in the “backyard,” I saw some things that I wouldn’t have had Freddy not run back there. Like hare tracks.

magpiesnowprintsC01753

And bird landing/take-off prints. This is probably a magpie.

birdsnowprintsC01763

birdsnowprintsC01790

I love bird footprints in snow.

wingsnowprintC01761

I also love wingprints.

birdsnowprintsC01779

I think this is a jackdaw picking something up.

birdsnowprintsC01784

I am guessing this is another magpie.

birdsnowprintsC01787

Walking and then a take-off. Magpies make tailprints, so this is either a crow or a jackdaw.

catsnowprintsC01794

Of course, there were also some cat footprints.

crocussnowC01685

As snowy as it looks, it was also melting fast.

crocussnowC01684

Crocuses are already blooming!

And, as you can see, a large area at the back of our building was all green grass. I think we’ll be lucky if we get any more snow this year.