Aby-a-Day – April 19: Bicycle built for two

Jacoby’s big birthday present this year was a DoggyRide Cocoon bike basket/carrier from DutchDog Design.

jakebikebasketC07725

Not that I really have much call to take Jake places on my bike, but with this carrier, I can take him places on my bike. When I was in high school, I built a bike seat for my Siamese mix, Sgt. Pepper, which I named the “Pepper Shaker.” We went for a lot of bike rides back in Davis…but I haven’t tried to take a cat for a bike ride since.

jakebikebasketC07707

We’ve come a long way since the 80’s when it comes to bike pet carrier technology, I’ll say that. Of course, DutchDog Design is based in Holland, where people ride bikes everywhere to do everything. I read a lot of reviews, and this particular carrier seems to be the best-rated and best-designed bicycle pet carrier. It also doubles as a regular bike shopping basket.

jakebikebasketC07684

jakebikebasketC07648

Jake was very interested in the box when he saw it.

jakebikebasketC07657

Jake also also really likes my bike.

jakebikebasketC07663

See?

jakebikebasketC07700

But does the fact that he likes the box and my bike mean he’ll like riding in the carrier?

jakebikebasketC07737

Well, he seems to like it just fine.

jakebikebasketC07740

I just put him in the basket, and he just sat there, enjoying the view.

jakebikebasketC07738

He didn’t even try to jump out.

jakebikebasketC07742

Even closed, there seems to be plenty of headroom in this carrier.

jakebikebasketC07766

“Okay, mom, I’m ready! Let’s go!”

jakebikebasketC07763

This basket seems really stable and secure. There’s a leash inside, of course, to prevent him from jumping out while we’re moving.

jakebikebasketC07748

Although it’s primarily designed for small dogs, it’s a shape and size that seems to really appeal to feline sensibilities.

jakebikebasketC07750

So I don’t know when, but someday we’ll go for a bike ride together using this carrier…

jakebikebasketC07752

Always closed, of course!