Aby-a-Day – April 6: “And I shall call him ‘Mini-Me’…” (Miniature Monday)

Back in December, doing one of my random searches for Abyssinians, I discovered Leo3DModels, a brilliant ball-jointed dollmaker on DeviantArt. Based in Russia, he makes the doll parts using a 3D printer and then he assembles them.

When I saw this picture, I was intrigued…

…But when I saw this photo…I knew I had to get one made of Jacoby. I mean, he’s not just a dollmaker, he’s one of us! He has a Somali!

As it happens, Leo has an Etsy shop, Elleo Dolls, where you can order your own custom kitty! I was so entranced with his little blue Abyssinian that I scraped up all my Xmas money and ordered one on 13 January.

minijakeBJD_IMG_7460

He arrived last Tuesday, 31 March. Here he is fresh out of the box outside the post office.

jakeminijakeBJD_IMG_7468

The next morning, mini-Jake met big Jake.

jakeminijakeBJD_IMG_7461

Jake was busy soaking up sunshine, but he was interested in meeting his miniature self.

jakeminijakeBJD_IMG_7463

jakeminijakeBJD_IMG_7464

Jake was especially interested in the tail.

minijakeBJD_IMG_7466

Of course, I am also waiting for my other custom ball-jointed Jake doll, which Ana tells me is very nearly completed. That’s a project that’s taken over a year, and I cannot wait to compare the two dolls! As you may have noticed, I’ve started a new semi-regular feature, Miniature Mondays, so I can feature some fun photos of the mini Jakes and their little adventures.

4 thoughts on “Aby-a-Day – April 6: “And I shall call him ‘Mini-Me’…” (Miniature Monday)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.