Cattoonize your kitty!

My friend Sanna-Leena did this ages ago ((2012!), but I’d forgotten about it and was recently reminded…Check out the Cattoonizer!

This is her two boys, Kossi and Sketsi. The Finnish captions read “Kossi, before meal” and “Sketsi, any time.”

Of course I had to try it, too. I mean, who doesn’t love a custom cartoon generator? Here’s our boy Jacoby. Yes, he’s got the same silly expression as Sketsi…but then, they are related (distantly, but still).

And here’s Angel. I had to do a teesy bit of Photoshop to get her to only have one eye.

Of course, I couldn’t leave out Kylie…

…or Tessie! Tess was the most difficult, but then, torties are like that.

Aby-a-Day – October 6: Christmas Déjà vu (Cartoon Tuesday)

Björn found another holiday cartoon I drew while clearing the basement storage for the imminent arrival of all my crap. This one was a quick sketch I drew, without pencil, for his then-girlfriend Titti back in 1997 when I was living in San Francisco with my two Siamese Harri and Patrick.

xmas-bjorn1997

A quick sketch like that? Of course I didn’t remember it after 18 years. But when he showed it to me on Sunday when he discovered it I was instantly struck with the similarity of this little scribble of Patrick and Harri to this cartoon I did in 2013 starring, of course, Jacoby and Angel:

abycartoon104

I mean, okay, the joke is different…but the basic dynamic is very similar. I’m also amused that Harri seems to have transitioned from being the “goofball” (aka Jake) character into being the “intelligent straight-man” (aka Angel) character with the introduction of Patrick, who was younger, rather than Sigrid, who – like Angel – was older than Harri. Or, the girlcat is always smarter…when there is no girlcat, the older cat is smarter.

Still…interesting to see an embryonic idea become a full-fledged cartoon years later…even if it was a complete accident!

Abys in Need: Piper Jane in Iowa City, IA

Another entry in the “People suck” category…

“This is Piper Jane. She is a 3 year old Abyssinian. She was rescued from a farm where she had been dumped for no fault of her own. The cattery owner no longer wanted her for breeding. Piper was near starvation when we found her, we knew she wouldn’t survive the winter. Piper has doubled her weight since her rescue. She is now current on all vaccinations and was spayed last week. She is very sweet and has an enthusiastic purr. She loves attention, but is not a lap cat. If you are interested in adopting Miss Piper please let me know.”

Really? REALLY? Dumped. On a farm. I don’t even. Hey at least she’s not declawed…

If you’re interested in Piper Jane, you can send an email through the Rescue Me website, or ring Tricia Deol on 319-541-9584.